Summer 2015 Anime Season Do’s and Don’ts

Hi all!  Here are some do’s and don’ts for the upcoming summer anime season.  There are quite a few more don’ts this season, so it leaves much to be desired.  However, I hope you can at least scrape out a few good views by the end of summer.

Do: Watch Gangsta

Gangsta_zpsd8f7a5c5

This one might be a bit tough.  I haven’t read the manga yet, but from what I hear, it’s rather good.  With that in mind, let’s consider the animated adaptation set to release this season.  Now, I’m as skeptical as the next person about anime adaptations of popular manga/light or visual novels etc., but the scenery and atmosphere of this manga seems ripe for anime plundering.  I would say that how Gangsta executes its first episode will be crucial in determining its success as a show, plot-wise, but regardless of how it does in that department, I should be fine with it.  I’ve heard whispers of similarities to Black Lagoon and Dogs: Bullets and Carnage.  After hearing that, my expectations are high, but I’m trying to keep myself in check for an almost inevitable failure in one aspect or another.  Oh anime industry, why must you be so fickle?

The trailer, for your viewing pleasure:

Don’t: Watch Joukamachi no Dandelion

dandelion

If I could, I would walk all the way to the offices of whoever is producing this and ask, “Are you even trying anymore?”  I mean, seriously?  It’s a show based on a 4-koma manga (alarms bells should be primed) about a normal family of 11 people (oxymoron) that actually isn’t normal (it just double-took itself) because the father of the family is king (of what?  Who knows?) and all of the kids have super-powers.  Also, in order to determine the next king, all of the kids have to be constantly monitored by hundreds of video cameras at all times.  Yup, they somehow took The Hunger Games and made it about dying from embarrassment.

Please, I beg of you.  You have better ways to spend your time.  Most likely, none of them have to do with this anime season, but just for your own sake, avoid this.

Here’s the promo video, in case you would like to burn it:

Do: Watch Gakkou Gurashi!

GakkouGurashi3

I was very skeptical at first.  Actually, that’s a lie.  At first, I didn’t even notice this.  Then, as I was scanning through the summer anime list for the fifth time to try and salvage something, I read the word “Seinen” in the tags.  I looked at the picture, and then to “Seinen”, and then back to the picture.  Must be a mistake, I thought to myself.  After a little more research, I found out that this is actually a very successful ongoing manga about… well, I’m not exactly sure.  Apparently, it changes tones very frequently and sporadically.  It starts off, obviously, with the basic cute girl shtick.  It then transforms to incorporate elements of the mystery, horror and supernatural genres.  Knowing that, I am both intrigued and a little scared.  I’m intrigued about seeing all of these elements mix, but I’m scared that the anime is gonna mess it up somehow.  Oh well, I guess I’ll just hope for the best.

Sadly, nothing on the trailer front.  I’d check out the manga if I were you.

Don’t: Watch Kuusen Madoushi Kouhosei no Kyoukan

kuusen

Alright, look.  I try to be open minded, I really do.  But there’s nothing here for me.  It’s about aerial combat mages who fight insects that have invaded Earth, causing humans to live in floating cities in the sky.  Now look at the cover photo above.  Tell me that that isn’t a harem in the making.  There is no way that fighting magical armored insects is a priority here.  I mean, they aren’t really being subtle here, it’s clear what the intention is.  Just take a look at this point in the promo:

I can’t even write about this anymore.  Let’s move on.

Do: Watch the 1st episode of Rokka no Yuusha

rokka-no-yuusha-1431421618425

I’m being very specific here.  I suggest you take a gander at the first episode and judge for yourself if it’s worth your time.  Adapted from the pretty successful light novel of the same name, Rokka no Yuusha is a contender for “most interesting premise of the season”.  It’s about a prophecy that tells of 6 heroes who will come together at a specific time and specific place to… well, to do something.  Anyways, we follow Adlet Mayer, one of the fated heroes, as he journeys to meet the other five companions.  However, when the heroes meet at the promised location, it turns out that seven are there.  One of them is an impostor.

That alone intrigues me.  The art looks rather good and it’s based on a novel that’s been doing rather well.  While I’m still skeptical, I really want to like it, and that should hopefully make it much easier for me to forgive any mistakes it makes.  That being said, I think you should watch the first episode to see ho the character interactions play it.  From that, you will most likely be able to judge if the translation of the original material to animation was a good idea in your eyes.  That’s my plan of attack anyways.

Here’s the trailer:

Don’t: Watch Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai

shimoneta

I mean, it’ll depend on your sense of humor.  From what I can tell, this anime is going to jump the shark instead of being funny.  That’s just me though.  I will say one thing though: the description of the plot makes very little sense.  So if that’s your thing, go for it.  But I’m not going to.  Just saying.

Here’s the trailer, which should help clear things up:


That’s it for my tips.  Here are a few other honorable mentions that didn’t get specific postings, for various reasons:

God EaterIt’s a videogame adaptation.  I’ll be checking it out, since it’s ufotable, but I don’t know anything about the game.  In terms of plot, the show is going to have to do a lot of work to fill me in.  I don’t have complete faith that an adaptation of a game is going to do that very well.

Ranpo Kitan: Game of LaplaceI will definitely be checking it out, as it is based on the works of one of my favorite Japanese “detective”-genre novelists, Edogawa Ranpo.  I’m sure not everyone is familiar with his stuff, so I didn’t bother writing about it.

Non Non Biyori RepeatIt’s a sequel to a slice-of-life show, so it’s meaningless by definition.  However, I will still be watching it, as the first season was kinda fun.

Durarara!!x2 TenI’m waiting for all of the seasons of this second phase of Durarara!! to end in order to binge-watch the entire thing.

Gatchaman Crowds Insight: I’ve heard a few good things about the first season and I have yet to check it out.  Thus, no appearance on the list.

Leave a Reply

