Music Review – Polysics

Here’s a weird little band.  Polysics would best be categorized as electronic pop.  Yeah, I think that’s probably broad enough.  I’ll be quick with this review, ’cause I’m tired right now.

Let’s start off with the first song of theirs that I ever heard, and the song that got me into them in the first place.  “Tei Tei Tei” from the soundtrack to the video game FIFA 07.

Sometimes, the guitar line of their music really astounds me.  There is a clear musicality and rhythm to it, a purpose and an actual song there.  It isn’t random, and if anything, the electronic part of the song merely complements that guitar line.  I think that adherence to a central musicality is what separates Polysics from other electronic pop bands, and what makes them so hard to categorize.

Next, let’s move on to what is probably their most popular song, at least for those who’ve seen a good deal of anime, or perhaps just the right ones.  I’m talking about “Rocket”, which is the ending song for the anime Moyashimon.

This is starting to get a little more random and crazy, which is definitely the style of this band.  However, I think that’s definitely the trend with electric pop music.  The electronically generated sounds just become new ways for musicians to jump the gun in terms of what sounds are produced among the notes of the music.  It gets to the point where the music is secondary and the shock of a new sound is the purpose of the genre.  I think Polysics doesn’t stray too far from the vein of music though, which is a feature of their music that I approve of.

Let’s get a little more crazy.  Here’s “I My Me Mine” from their 2005 album Now Is the Time!

This one is definitely straying into the territory of absurdity.  However, with Polysics, there’s almost an attitude of novelty to their music, like they know exactly how weird they are, and are just deliberately running up the score.  Also, it’s not like they’re completely running away from a song.  There is definitely music there, it’s just becoming harder to dig for it.  That being said, I really like this song.

Here’s another one, released recently, their 2013 single “MEGA OVER DRIVE”.

When I first heard this song, I felt like it really would have fit in well as background music for Darker than Black, or perhaps the 2nd season.  That’s just the feeling I had.  If you’ve heard the soundtrack for Ryuusei no Gemini, then you’ll probably get where I’m coming from.

Last but not least, here’s another recent one from their album 15th P, “Mix Juice”.

Yup, just crazy.  Real crazy.  And yet, it’s definitely music.  That’s Polysics for you.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this weirder look at J-Music.  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

