Top 5: Shows I Rewatch the Most

Fullmetal Alchemist, Code GeassMirai Nikki.  What do these anime have in common?  They are pretty good shows with terrible rewatchability.  It just takes me so much effort to watch these shows.  If I don’t give these show my undivided attention, I lose out on important details or moments.  However, there are some shows that I can rewatch again and again.  This list is in honor of those shows.  These are my top 5 shows that I rewatch the most.

Note: This list is completely subjective.  The reasons behind why these shows are on the list range from their superior qualities and unique characteristics, to strange circumstances and my whack brain chemistry.  Either way, this post is for the lolz.

5: Nodame Cantabile

nodame

I like uncomplicated romance.  As little drama as possible, please and thank you.  Love triangles?  I cringe.  Heartbreak?  God damn it all to heck.  Nodame Cantabile heard these concerns of mine and gave me exactly what I wanted, all wrapped in the soothing bars of classical music.  We see the heartfelt tale of people who are looking for a purpose and finding each other, with a background of music composed by greats such as Rachmaninov, Debussy, Brahms and Elgar.  Of course there are the more obvious names too, but to be honest these guys made some of the best music for this show.  The soothing tones of classical music act as both the jumping off point and the expression of the emotional tensions that run through the show.  However, music is a far better control mechanism for emotion than strict plot points, making all of the dramatic moments of Nodame Cantabile become cushioned in music, because the viewer knows that everything will eventually fade into a double bar line in the end.

A great show, and a worthy investment of 23 episodes worth of time.  I’ll rewatch it and keep pretending I know how to play this music ’til the day I croak.


#4: Amagami SS

25259

When I make a list of the anime that are my guilty pleasures, this will most likely top it.  I feel pretty guilty saying that I really enjoyed this show, for a lot of the same reasons as the previous entry.  Romance is simple, especially when it’s for the PS2.  You’ve really got to hand it to the people who adapted the game for Amagami SS, they did a bang up job at making Junichi Tachibana more than just some cardboard cutout.  For those who’ve read my list of the most boring anime protagonists, you’ll see that I am not forgiving to video game adaptations, and their lead characters.  The thing is, Persona 4 is an RPG.  There should be something resembling character development, and there really isn’t much.  With a visual novel like Amagami, you don’t expect any real character development.  You’re just trying to, and please pardon my Latin, “get dat booty”.  And yet, Junichi Tachibana is an actual person in this adaptation.

Also, we don’t get a School Days situation going on here.  The creators split up each route into individual and separate “alternate universes”, that are presented independent of one another.  That way, you get to see your “favorite girl(s)” get hooked up at some point, without any heartbreak or anguish or lover triangles.  Thanks Amagami SS.


#3: Lucky Star

15010l

Lucky Star has been on one of my lists before, Top Relaxing Anime.  I think the reason it is on this list has also been mentioned on that list.  I was having a really hard time with school a while back, and I was having trouble sleeping at night.  I had already watched Lucky Star, and since it was pretty empty in terms of content, I decided to watch that instead of watching something I hadn’t seen before.  I thought it would be easier because I wouldn’t have to think as much while watching it.  As it turns out, this was a terrific idea.  Every night before going to sleep, I would watch 4-5 episodes of Lucky Star and I would sleep like a baby.  It was fantastic.  This show is like Ambien for me.  As a result, I ended up watching every last inch of the show several times.

Why, you ask?  Because I am an otaku, and otakus can when normal people can’t.


#2: Hajime no Ippo

hajime no ippo

This may seem like a surprise entry, because Hajime no Ippo has a whopping 75 episodes to it’s name, just in the first season.  Well, that should just go to show you how much I like this show.  For those of you who know my work on UnimeTV, I posted a list of my top 10 favorite anime there a while back (you won’t find it there right now, the old site is under renovation).  Hajime no Ippo was rather high up the list, and my feelings about it haven’t changed.  This show gets me pumped up when I’m deflated with the combination of it’s underdog story and terrific opening songs by Shocking Lemon.  I’m not a very positive person by nature, and so I am often in need of pumping up.  I come back to Hajime no Ippo almost every time.  It hasn’t failed me yet.


#1: Prince of Tennis

prince of tennis

There’s a running joke between some friends of mine.  A while back, a friend asked me what my favorite anime was.  I’m still not sure, but I couldn’t think of anything other than Prince of Tennis.  However, I couldn’t fathom why that was the case.  I responded, “It can’t be Prince of Tennis.”  Now, if I talk about great anime, I always repeat that phrase.  “It can’t be Prince of Tennis.  It just can’t be.”  However, my countless rewatches of this insanely long show are proof that I must be deluding myself.  As much as I hate to admit it… no, it just can’t be true.


Thanks for reading, everyone!  This turned into more of a “guilty pleasure” post, to be honest, but it still works as a list of shows that I can’t stop watching, over and over again.  I hope you liked it, and look forward to more of my silly posturing in the future.  Thanks again, and have a great day!

P.S.: I know that the cover image is from Hajime no Ippo: New Challenger, not the original show that appears on this list.  You must admit that the cover photo is pretty epic though.  Thus, I chose that.  Inaccuracy is the price of awesome.

Leave a Reply

