Double Whammy: Imitation Game, Whiplash

Hey there!  I’ve been on a segment creation streak, and it ain’t ending yet folks.  This time, it’s a segment I like to call “Double Whammy”.  Every now and then, I do this strange thing where I watch 2 hard-hitting movies/anime/tv shows etc. back to back.  After the first one hits me, I see to want to run into the second one, knowing that I’m most likely in for a rough time.  And yet, I still run in and take the one-two combo.  By the end, I’m just exhausted, but I don’t regret a thing.  Well, maybe a little.  I call these one-two punches “Double Whammy”‘s and I’ve done so many of them that I have enough to make a recurring segment, at least for a while.  It’s just a short segment that focuses on my thoughts about the two films and why they, in tandem, led to my downfall.

To kick it off, I decided to do one that happened to me fairly recently, I’d say May or June.  I watched The Imitation Game and Whiplash.  Yeah, it hurt.  It hurt real bad.

The Imitation Game tells the story of misunderstood genius Alan Turing, and how he was recruited to the war effort in order to defeat the German’s enigma code.  Working with a crack team of cryptographers, including a secret weapon in mathematician Joan Clarke (played by Keira Knightley), Turing works to decipher the code that has stumped everyone in the country during some of the darkest days of WWII.  Confronting issues of nationalism, gender roles and homosexuality, The Imitation Game is a well crafted tale that hits just enough of the emotional high points to warrant it’s high praise and the emotional weight attached to it.  That’s the first punch.

Whiplash follows Andrew, a young aspiring drummer who is driven to become the best.  He eventually reaches the feet of the legendary maestro Fletcher, who pushes Andrew to the breaking point.  Fletcher accepts no second-rate performances from his orchestra, and we watch as life, choices, decency and integrity crumble before raw human ambition.  It’s a beautiful human drama that is carried to perfection by the performances of Miles Teller and J. K. Simmons, the latter of whom won an Oscar deservedly for his efforts.  And now I’m down for the count.


Thanks a lot folks.  I’ll continue to keep this up as long as you like it.  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

