TV Review – Mr. Robot and Marvel’s Daredevil

Heyo!  I went on a bit of a t.v. show-watching spree recently.  I thought I might as well do a review on the shows I binge-watched.

The first show was Mr. Robot on the USA Network.  If you have friends who watch a decent amount of television, or if you have ever walked outside of your room, you’ve probably seen an ad for this show.  There was a huge amount of viral advertising, which I’m pretty sure has yet to be taken down from the sides of walls and bus stops.  After a while, I eventually caved in and watched all of what has come out.  My strongest feeling after watching it was, “I don’t think this is what it was supposed to be.”

Let’s start with the premise.  Elliot Alderson is a computer programmer for a cyber security firm.  However, his real passion is hacking and he has a real knack for it.  He is able to grab information online on anyone and everyone, and he learns everything about them.  His goal is to somehow fight against E Corp, a conglomerate that is both ubiquitous and powerful and has found it’s way into the lives of all of humanity.  Elliot believes them to be unjust and power-mad and has decided to bring the fight to them.  Little does he know that other players are in the mix with plans for Elliot, and his continuous hacking starts to get noticed by strange elements.  Slowly, Elliot is dragged into a web of deceit, power, greed and evil, and he starts to wonder whether the price he’s paying to become a hero is too high.

First off, I have no problem with the acting in this show.  Everyone pulls off great performances individually.  Rami Malek, Martin Wallstrom and Christian Slater all cut perfect figures for their respective characters.  My problems with this show come from the content.  I don’t want to spoil too much, but basically I thought it ended up contradicting itself.  I shall say no more on this (I hope I didn’t spoil too much), but that was my thought.

Let’s just move on the Marvel’s Daredevil.  Season 1 came out a while back, but I never got around to watching it until yesterday.  It was quite good, up until the end.  Charlie Cox does a good job bringing out the duality of Matt Murdock and his Daredevil alter-ego, Elden Henson is a great Foggy Nelson, and Toby Leonard Moore’s James Wesley was great.  Probably the thing that struck me most was Vincent D’Onofrio’s Wilson Fisk a.k.a Kingpin.  It was a far different interpretation of the character than I’d seen before.  It was certainly more novel.  He comes off as a cross between the traditional Kingpin, a rich, mad, overzealous control-freak, and J. Jonah Jameson.  Fisk appears to feel just as passionately about Hell’s Kitchen as Murdock does, but he feels that a purge is required before reconstruction.

Overall, I think the show was well done, although the ending didn’t provide any kind of “To be continued”-type of moment, and more of a “See us again next season”, which is much promising.


Well that’s all for now.  Thanks for reading, and have a great day!

One thought on “TV Review – Mr. Robot and Marvel’s Daredevil

Leave a Reply

